• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Rss
  • Plus
Province of Ilocos Sur

Ilocos Sur duplicates SGLG Award

Dec 08, 2017 Written by  PIO Ilocos Sur Read 4495 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Not only once but twice! The Provincial Government of Ilocos Sur did it again for this year 2017. “We are back to back and I’m hoping for the best result next year for the Hall of Fame”, Governor Ryan Singson said. Gov. Singson personally received the 2017 SGLG marker and cash incentive, the Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) at The Manila Hotel last November 28, 2017 which will be used to finance the province’ local development initiatives. The PGIS was awarded the Seal of Good Local Governance again together with its two cities Candon and Vigan along with its 13 municipalities namely: Cabugao, Caoayan, Nagbukel, Quirino, Salcedo, San Ildefonso, San Vicente, Santa, Santa Lucia, Santiago, Sta. Catalina, Sta. Cruz, and Sto. Domingo. Ilocos Sur is among the 448 local government units (LGUs) all over the country passed the test of good governance, earning the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) for this year. "This is a very good indication of our improving governance in the province and it means better service to the people of Ilocos Sur. This just proved that we are true in our commitments in delivering services to our constituents" Gov Ryan said in a statement. Recipients of the Seal are eligible to receive a cash incentive in the form of Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) amounting to P3-million for provincial governments, P2.4-million for city governments, and P2-million for municipal governments which they can use to finance development projects. For this year, the DILG raises its overall assessment criteria from “3+1” into “4+1”. Peace and Order has been added to the core areas namely, Financial Administration, Disaster Preparedness, and Social Protection. This year a new essential area, Tourism, Culture and the Arts, is likewise introduced to measure LGU efforts along these concerns. Relative to the Philippine Development Plan or PDP, the areas of Financial Administration, Social Protection, Disaster Preparedness and Cultural Preservation are aligned with the principle “Malasakit” (Enhancing the Social Fabric). The areas of Business Friendliness and Tourism on the other hand, support economic growth consistent with the province “Pagbabago” (Reducing Inequality), while Peace and Order and Environmental Management are bedrocks strategies for “Patuloy na Pag-unlad” (Inreasing Growth Potential). Of the 448 LGUs that clinched the seal this year, 28 are provinces, 61 are cities, and 359 are municipalities. In 2016, only 306 LGUs received the SGLG. The Ilocos Region got the most awards with a total of 68. The SGLG, the highest award given by the Department is a progressive assessment and awards system adopted by the DILG to give distinction to remarkable local government performance across areas of good governance.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Top of Page